Magical Musical Mondays

I found this group while I was searching Youtube for covers of Rammstein songs and I’m quite impressed. Not that it takes a lot to impress me as far as this sort of music goes. Give me cellos and violins playing in a heavy metal style and I’ll be yours forever. I’m even writing my senior thesis on the similarities between heavy metal music and classical music from the Romantic era.

Here’s their cover of Rammstein’s ‘Sonne,’ which is one of my favorite songs of theirs. Silenzium’s cover is great. They take just enough liberties to make it their own, but the song is quite clearly ‘Sonne’ by Rammstein. It’s a gorgeous cover; I’ve always felt that Rammstein’s music is particularly suited to classical instruments and so have other musicians. In 2002, composer Torsten Rasch adapted music from Rammstein’s catalog into a song cycle for Baritone and Orchestra, which you can see part of here.

Here’s a cover of ‘Anthem of the World’ by Stratovarius.

And last, but not least, is an original composition from the leader of the group, Nata Grigoryeva.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

